Musings from Quince


Campaign for Color
April 6, 2010, 8:29 pm
Filed under: Color | Tags: , ,
Campaign for Color

Don't be afraid!

Why do people get so wigged out about color?

This has been bothering me for quite awhile!  Color will not bite you, is not the enemy, will not mess up your life;  yet, I come into contact with souls on a fairly regular basis who want to use color in their homes, but just don’t know how to do it.  I sympathize to a point – have you looked at a paint manufacturer’s color wheel lately?  Hundreds, thousands of options – even “white” has a zillion variations!  And the names of paint colors – please!!  Who thinks these up?  It’s a mystery, really, how colors are assigned names – I can imagine a bunch of chemically altered English majors sitting around a table shouting out would-be names, and laughing hysterically as they check one after the other off a list.  Does anyone have the scoop on this process?  We’d all love to know!

Color at Home

Color at Home by Meg & Steven Roberts

Perusing beautiful books featuring color (and there are many!) as a theme is an easy way to get excited about introducing or even changing a look….I highly recommend Color At Home….easily ordered on Amazon, or pick up a copy at Quince.  This primer divides colors into chapters and is low on verbage; the pages speak volumes and it’s impossible not to drink it all in, page by page.  What I have realized is that the color which anchors a room can essentially be the “neutral” in the space – the primary color may be the wall color, fabric color, rug color, floor cover…whatever dominates the room.

Setting the mood through color can be done easily; want to create a haven?  Go with soft, watery palettes….want to go crazy with eye popping points of interest?  Consider all white fabrics against crazy or dramatic accents – walls, pillows, accessories….there may be certain tones you absolutely can’t handle – no problem, don’t use them – it’s that simple!

The Comfortable Home by Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams

The Comfortable Home: How to Invest in Your Nest and Live Well for Less

Another resource I really like for exploring color options is The Comfortable Home by Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams.  This book is packed with practical information on everything from furnishing all sizes of spaces to furniture and color choices!  Not only do these guys know how to do it all, they happen to be really great guys (yes, I can speak personally).  Stop by Quince for a copy, or order by clicking on book.

In the meantime, enjoy the gazillions of trees, shrubs, and flowers in bloom at the moment; nature does her share to keep us in the loop….color loop, that is!  I can’t wait to share my next blog on color….I’ve secured live models to showcase a particular color grouping that you wouldn’t necessarily put together….stay tuned!


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Woman, you were born to blog.
Another great one.
thanks for keeping me in the loop.

Comment by sandra

Wow, thanks so much! I’ve got quite a few topics marinating at the moment….stay tuned!

Comment by sharonmanering

I love the color of your double duty lavatory/storage room at Quince. Gorgeous! And I will never forget first walking in to your home on University about 9 years ago (?) and being blown away. When you work with someone, you really have no idea what their style is at HOME. I knew you had a future that was going to evolve from biotech to brilliant hues. Keep the stories coming, babe. I need all the help I can get! 50andfeisty Maribeth

Comment by 50andfeisty




Leave a comment